Qualification Funding | Government Funded Qualifications

Funded Qualifications Awarding Body

Qualification Funding Qualification Funding

Funding for Qualifications

image description

The list of our qualifications eligible for funding in 2016/17 can be downloaded here. This document clearly identifies which of the main funding streams are available for each qualification as well as their inclusion within apprenticeship frameworks.


Adult Education Budget (AEB)

The AEB has been designed to provide greater flexibility enabling organisations to respond to more local and regional skills agendas. More information from the Skills Funding Agency (SFA) about the changing context can be viewed here

The AEB has been divided into two components;

Legal Entitlement
This includes learners aged 19-23 that have not previously achieved a Full Level 2 or Level 3 qualification. The SFA has published a list of qualifications which they are able to fund for this type of learner. Our qualifications included in the Legal Entitlement list are identified in our Funded Qualifications List, or you can view SFA’s full list of eligible qualifications here

Local Flexibilities
Qualifications at Level 2 and below that are not included in Legal Entitlement will be eligible for funding under Local Flexibilities. The SFA has introduced a set of eligibility principles designed to be simpler and less restrictive than the previous eligibility criteria for the funding of qualifications.

The SFA has not published a definitive list of qualifications eligible for funding under Local Flexibilities but these can be identified on The Hub.

A list of our qualifications included within the Local Flexibilities offer have been identified in our Funded Qualifications List.


Advanced Learner Loans 

See our Advanced Learner Loans page for information or you can download our Advanced Learner Loan Information Booklet here.



Changes in apprenticeships and the way they are funded are also in progress as existing frameworks are being phased out and replaced by new apprenticeship standards. The SFA has provided separate funding rules for frameworks and standards


Workforce Development Fund (Health and Social Care in England)

The Workforce Development Fund (WDF) is available to employers working in the care sector to support their investment into the development of their staff. Employers can use the WDF to contribute towards the costs of workers completing health and social care qualifications and units and can also be used towards funding the delivery of intermediate and advanced apprenticeships in health and social care.

Employers can receive a contribution of £15 per credit for qualifications and units that are listed under Skills for Care’s list of acceptable units

More information on the WDF for both employers and learning providers can be found on the Skills for Care Website.  This provides more detail on how to access the WDF and the processes involved.

Further questions relating to the WDF can be directed to wdf@skillsforcare.org.uk.